Judicial Districts

Background Information

District courts are trial courts that are divided into judicial districts serving all 93 counties of the State.

Nebraska is divided into 12 judicial districts encompassing all 93 counties. Across the State, district boundaries are aligned with county lines – some districts include just one county, while others include as many as 17.

Each district has at least one district court location, although a judge may preside in more than one district court within a judicial district, particularly in rural areas of the State. There are currently 55 district judges.

Wayne County is in the Seventh Judicial District, which also includes Antelope, Cuming, Knox, Madison, Pierce, and Stanton counties.